Mega Man: The Movie


 

 

2011's "Megaman vs. Sonic" is tracking HUGE.

2011's "Megaman vs. Sonic" is tracking HUGE.

I have a lot of great memories playing classic NES, Sega Genesis, Super NES, etc. Some of the simplest, greatest games ever created came out of those consoles, and without a doubt it sparked my imagination and helped shape the nerd I am today. We’ve been tossing around classic video game ideas over at my new job at Break Media’s Creative Lab, and I took a wandering through youtube and the interwebz to see what other people have been making.

I’ve always been intrigued by fan made trailers about classic video games. When they’re well done, they’re absolutely hilarious. On a whim, I wanted to see if anyone had skewered Mega Man, one of my favorite franchises of all time. The result was simply stunning.

More after the jump.

 

 

 

If the sequel doesn't have Protoman, I'm writing some letters.

If the sequel doesn't have Protoman, I'm writing some letters.

You can find info on the whole project at http://www.megamanfilm.com/ it looks like a lot of low-budget work went into it, which I totally respect. It’s a passion project, one that probably won’t make money, but it will look reasonably cool and should be a feather in the cap of the creator, Eddie Lebron. From browsing around his website, this is not his first rodeo, and the effects look pretty polished in the trailer. I have a lot of hope for this.

This is yet another reason why I love the internet. I just wish I had thought of this first.

 

If this doesn't say "low budget web passion project," I don't know what does.

If this doesn't say "low budget web passion project," I don't know what does.

You can follow updates about the film’s progress on their blog:  http://megaman.ningin.com/

Looks like they’re aiming at a July 2009 release in NYC. If you’re in town, you should check it out and review it!

 

The last thing an Italian plumber sees.

The last thing an Italian plumber sees.

2 Responses

  1. Did anyone ever do Duke Nukem?

  2. YOu guys are total geeks! but the trialers cool

Leave a Reply

